Luiz Costa, IREG President, on the “THE” Impact Rankings Advisory Board

Prof. Luiz Costa (Brazil), President of IREG Observatory on Academic Ranking and Excellence has been appointed a members of the newly created Advisory Board of the THE Impact Rankings. The Board consists of 11 persons selected from a large number of applicants among experts on higher education from all the continents. The Board will meet later in July to discuss the methodology of the THE Impact Ranking.

Members of the Advisory Board of the THE Impact Rankings

Professor Luiz Costa (Brazil)
As a full professor and former Rector of University Federal de Viçosa, Rector of IESB University, Vice Minister and acting Minister for Education, Professor Costa has had a significant impact on education in Brazil and across the world.

Professor Max Lu, vice-chancellor University of Surrey (UK)
Professor Lu leads one of the best UK Universities, and is active across Government (and is Deputy Lieutenant of Surrey too!). He has held senior positions in Australia and Singapore.

Dr Jingwen Mu, strategic planning manager, University of Auckland (New Zealand)
Dr Mu is one of the people who provides data for the rankings – and she is also an expert on bibliometrics, working with Elsevier on their SDG partnership group.

Carolyn Newton, director of global engagement, University of Cape Town (South Africa)
Carolyn was part of the team who pulled together UCT’s data for the Impact Rankings, and has been part of their SDG initiatives.

Simon Pratt, director of policy and analysis, University of Toronto (Canada)
Simon has been involved with rankings for many years, including helping to create the THE World University Ranking when at Thomson Reuters.

Duncan Ross, chief data officer, THE (UK)
Long term data scientist, creator of the Impact Rankings. Active in the charity sector in the UK.

Sarah Spiegel, coordinator for international rankings, University of Bonn (Germany)
Sarah works with the HRK (German Rector’s Conference), and has helped to set up the Alliance of Sustainability Research in Bonn.

Laura Tucker, chief executive officer, Vertigo Ventures
Vertigo Ventures were part of the original team who helped to build out the Impact Rankings – they produce software that supports universities in tracking activities.

Professor Shinobu Yamaguchi, director, UNU-IAS (Japan)
Professor Yamaguchi has extensive experience in development, not just through her work at UNU-IAS, but also from her earlier work at UNESCO.

Zheng Yi, Institute for Sustainable Development Goals, Tsinghua University (China)
Zheng helped to found the TUSDG and has worked with SDSN. She is also working on a PhD in comparative education on HEI’s SDG integration.

Meghan Fay Zhaniser, chief executive officer, AASHE (USA)
AASHE run the STARS accreditation system, and Meghan has been active on the UN Higher Education Sustainability Initiative.

Leave a Reply

The editors decide on the publication of comments on the site.