Executive Committee

Luiz Claudio Costa

President of IREG Observatory and Academic Ranking and Excellence

Former Acting Minister of Education and Vice-Minister of Education, Federal Government of Brazil, Former Rector of Federal University of Viçosa. Former President of the National Institute of Educational Studies and Research Anísio Teixeira (INEP), Brazil. Former Vice President of the PISA (Program for International Student Assessment) of OECD.

Waldemar Siwinski

Vice President

Waldemar Siwinski, founder and president of the Polish Education Foundation "Perspektywy". WS has considerable experience as author of professional rankings. He prepared over 70 rankings of universities, business schools and secondary schools in Poland.

Mirko degli Esposti

Executive Committee Member

Mr. Degli Esposti is Full Professor at the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Deputy Rector Alma Mater Studiorum Università di Bologna, Dean of Biblioteca Universitaria di Bologna, Head of Service for the health and safety of people in the workplace, President of the Alma Mater Foundation and Delegate for Rankings.

Habib M. Fardoun

Executive Committee Member

Prof. Habib M. Fardoun is a Full-Professor at King Abdulaziz University (KAU), and currently occupy the position of director of KAU Observatory Center for Academic Standards and Excellence, he has a PhD in Model-Based Approach for the Development of Quality Higher Educational Environments (2011), and Master in Aptitude for Teaching (2008), and Master in Advanced Computer Technologies (2007), by the University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain.

Dmitry Grishankov

Executive Committee Member

Mr. Grishankov is the General Director of International Group of rating agencies “Expert RA” and the science editor of «Expert» magazine. He is leading the development of university ratings in Russia and CIS as well as ratings of the companies, banks and regions.

Birte Hornemann

Executive Committee Member

Birte Hornemann, director of Aalborg University’s office of Quality Assurance and Ranking. Ms Hornemann has worked at Aalborg University since 1996. She has been responsible for accreditation, quality control, budget planning and evaluation at the Faculty of Engineering and Science.

Nian Cai LIU

Executive Committee Member

Professor Nian Cai LIU took his undergraduate study in chemistry at Lanzhou University of China. He obtained his doctoral degree in polymer science and engineering from Queen’s University at Kingston, Canada.

Robert James Morse

Executive Committee Member

Robert Morse is the Director of Data Research for U.S. News & World Report. He is in charge of producing the America's Best Colleges, the America's Best Graduate Schools and America's Best High Schools rankings all of which are published annually by U.S. News & World Report. He takes the lead role in survey design, ranking methodology changes and higher education research.

Ben Sowter

Executive Committee Member

Ben spent two years working for the UK national office of international student charity, AIESEC, for which he was ultimately elected National President. Ben leads the QS Intelligence Unit who are fully responsible for the operational management of all major QS research projects including the QS Top MBA Applicant and Recruiter Research, the QS World University Rankings® and the QS Asian University Rankings.

Members area

© 2018 IREG Observatory on Academic Ranking and Excellence